

2024 Maryland Bicycle-Pedestrian-Safe Roads Legislation

Last update: December 18, 2023

Contact: Seth Grimes, WABA, seth.grimes@waba.org

WABA's 2024 Maryland state legislative agenda, developed in cooperation with other Bike Maryland member organizations, includes a number of bicycle, pedestrian, and safe roads bills that are currently being developed:

- 1) A Great Maryland Trails Act, creating a Maryland Trails Office and directing creation of an inventory and plan for a Maryland Trails Network, identifying funding sources including grants, and establishing a Trails Commission. Sen. Sarah Elfreth (D30) will introduce a bill.
- 2) A bill addressing maintenance responsibility for sidewalks and bike paths along state roads would remove the assignment of responsibility to the local government. A bill being written by Del. Anne Healey (D22) would strike two sentences from Maryland Transportation Code, § 8-629(c) and § 8-630(6)(i), allowing but not requiring the state to pay for maintenance. Contrast that former Del. Al Carr's 2019 HB10 would have required the state to assume maintenance responsibility. Sen. Alonzo Washington (D22) will cross-file the bill in the Senate.
- 3) Del. Robbyn Lewis (D46) will introduce legislation creating an **Electric Bicycle Rebate and Voucher Program**, with \$100,000 annual funding starting in FY26.
- 4) **Stop as Yield** legislation would allow cyclists to treat a Stop sign as a Yield sign, yielding to pedestrians and to vehicles that have the intersection right of way. Eleven states and the District of Columbia have adopted Stop as Yield as the safest way for bicyclists to traverse intersections. A NHTSA fact sheet explains the rationale:

https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.gov/files/2022-03/Bicyclist-Yield-As-Stop-Fact-Sheet-032422-v3-tag.pdf. Del. Dana Stein (D11B) late-filed HB1289 in 2023. A 2024 sponsor is pending.

- 5) A 2023 bill to allow **Bikes on Sidewalks** state-wide was introduced by Del. Dana Jones (D30A), <u>HB</u> 519, and passed the House in 2023 by 135-2. It changes the statewide default to permit bicycle riding on sidewalks while allowing local jurisdictions to prohibit where appropriate. It ran out of time for a Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (JPR) vote. Del. Jones and Sen. Jeff Waldstreicher have pre-filed bills.
- 6) Del. Sara Love (D16) will file the **Sarah Debbink Langenkamp Memorial Act**, a bill that "brings more substantial penalties for vehicle drivers convicted of striking cyclists and makes them consistent with those for hitting a pedestrian." Senator Ariana Kelly (D16) will cross-file.

- 7) Del. Lorig Charkoudian (D20) has pre-filed a bill mandating a **Maryland Transportation Authority** (MDTA) complete streets policy or routine bicycle and pedestrian accommodations, applying to separated bicycle/pedestrian facilities on bridges and across, over and along certain roadways. Senator Jeff Waldstreicher (D18) has pre-filed in the senate.
- 8) Del. Robbyn Lewis (D46) has indicated that she will introduce the Better Bus Service Act of 2024, a bill allowing **camera enforcement for dedicated bus lanes**, extending a Baltimore City provision, enacted via HB53 in 2022, state-wide.
- 9) Del. Robbyn Lewis (D46) is introducing the Pedestrian Fatality Prevention Act of 2024, creating higher registration fees for heavy passenger vehicles and Class E trucks.
- 10) Del. Julie Palakovich Carr (D17) is writing a bill establishing a **Vision Zero Advisory Commission** to provide more accountability from stakeholders on implementation of the law. She has agreed to include representatives from bicycle/pedestrian advocacy organizations.

Montgomery County local bills

- 11) Del. Julie Palakovich Carr (D17) has introduced MC 7-24, a Montgomery County local bill making No Turn on Red the default in urban contexts and establishing leading pedestrian intervals the Walk signal will illuminate several seconds before traffic gets a green light matching the provisions of Montgomery County's Safe Streets Act. Here is WABA's Delegation testimony.
- 12) Del. David Moon (D20) has introduced MC 10-24, a Montgomery County local bill to allow area-wide speed limit reduction without requiring an engineering and traffic investigation, noting that Montgomery County functional master plans provide equivalent analyses, amending Maryland Transportation Article §21–803. Here is WABA's Delegation testimony.
- 13) Del. David Moon (D20) has introduced a Montgomery County local bill, MC 6-24, requiring use of school-bus monitoring camera revenues to enhance pedestrian safety at locations in the county where the violations occurred, a reintroduction of 2023's HB0849. Here is WABA's Delegation testimony.
- 14) Del. Jared Solomon (D18) has introduced Montgomery County local bill, <u>MC 15-24</u>, regarding use of speed-monitoring camera revenues for improvements at high-injury locations in the county. <u>Here is WABA's Delegation testimony.</u>

Prince George's County local bill

15) Del. Anne Healey (D22) has introduced PGC 301-24, authorizing placement of traffic control device monitoring systems, that is, Stop signs and, presumably, crosswalk cameras. She had previously filed this bill as statewide legislation, in 2021 and 2022. <u>Here is WABA's Delegation testimony.</u>