2023 Washington Region Vision Zero Summit Recap

On Wednesday, June 14th, WABA hosted the 7th annual Washington Region Vision Zero Summit. 

The event featured a number of panels (you can find the full agenda here!) and a keynote session featuring Maryland Transportation Secretary Paul Wiedefeld and Montgomery County Councilmember Natali Fani-González. 

Secretary Wiedefeld shared remarks about his Vision Zero goals for Maryland, how traffic safety work can include community leaders, and shared a few lessons for the region overall. Montgomery County Councilmember Natali Fani-González led an engaging and informative Q&A session with the Secretary after he gave his remarks.

Throughout the day, our speakers emphasized how we as practitioners, decision makers, and advocates can authentically seek and incorporate community feedback and build lasting community buy-in for safer streets. Recordings can be found on WABA’s Youtube channel (here’s the link to the 2023 Summit playlist) and the evening session with Charles Allen can be found here.

A big thank you to all of our speakers:

Charlie Willson, DC Vision Zero’s Interim Director 

Heather Foote, Transportation Footeprints

Ameen Beale, D.C. Pedestrian Advisory Council Ward 8 representative

Eileen McCarthy, former D.C. Pedestrian Advisory Council chair, Ward 3, and America Walks representative to the International Federation of Pedestrians board of directors

Christine Mayeur, D.C. Vision Zero and Highway Safety Office Transportation Specialist)

Charles Turner, DDOT Automated Traffic Enforcement

Christine Baker, Arlington County Vision Zero Program Manager

Wade Holland, Montgomery County Vision Zero Coordinator

Victor Weissberg, Special Projects Manager at Prince George’s County Department of Public Works and Transportation

Alexandria Carroll, Alexandria VA Vision Zero

Alex Baca, DC Policy Director at Greater Greater Washington

Charlie Grymes, Greater Prince William Trails Coalition 

Michele Burton, Project Manager at Institute for Public Health Innovation

Earnie Porta, JD, PhD; Mayor, Town of Occoquan and Chair, Prince William County, Joint Environmental Task Force

Erin Palmer, DC ANC 4B02

Josh Jacobson, DC ANC 1E06

Ashley Ruff, DC ANC 7F02 

VJ Kapur, DC ANC 5C07

Kori Johnson, Safe Routes Partnership

Jacob Smith, Executive Director at National Organizations for Youth Safety 

Katie Davis, Education Program Coordinator at Washington Area Bicyclist Association

Duwan Morris, Montgomery County Vision Zero Youth Ambassador Program Manager

Paul Ruffins, Streetcar Suburbs News 

Ron Weiss

Jo Percell, Outreach Librarian at DC Public Library 

Liliana Garcia, Library Associate at DC Public Library

Kristy Daphnis, Montgomery County Families for Safe Streets

Helaina Roisman, DC Families for Safe Streets

Patrick Wise, Alexandria Families for Safe Streets

Hung Truong, Arlington Families for Safe Streets

Sonya Breehey, Fairfax Families for Safe Streets

Andrew Turner, Director at R+D DC 

Mike Doyle, Northern VA Families for Safe Streets 

Trisalyn Nelson, Professor of Geography at UC Santa Barbara

Ward 6 DC Councilmember Charles Allen