2023 WABA Awards

WABA Awards are an important opportunity for WABA to recognize the people and places in our region that make bicycling great. 

This event is an opportunity to be among peers and celebrate the amazing work of advocates and elected officials  in our region. 

Want to celebrate with our awardees?

WABA is hosting the annual WABA awards on October 5th, from 5:30pm-7:30pm at Penn Quarter Sports Tavern, 639 Indiana Ave NW, Washington, DC 20004. RSVP Below!

The 2023 award winners:

WABA Super VolunteerVision Zero Caucus (ANC Commissioners)
(for tireless dedication to achieving vision zero, expanding our trail and bike network, and making D.C. more multi-modal)
WABA Public Leadership AwardD.C. Council Member Mary Cheh
(for dedication to achieving vision zero, supporting the Connecticut Avenue Protected Bike Lane, and making D.C. more multi-modal)
WABA Public Leadership AwardJulia Washburn
(for service while at the National Park Service including assisting with the permanent closure of Beach Drive in the region)
WABA Public Leadership AwardAlex Carroll
(for work supporting the Capital Trails Coalition in Alexandria, VA while employed by the City of Alexandria government)
WABA Public Leadership AwardMD Delegate Lorig Charkoudian
(for leadership on Maryland’s Safe Access for All (SAFE) Roads Act of 2023)
WABA Community Advocate AwardAndrew Olesen
(for countless work done at Bike Falls Church in Fall Church, VA)
WABA Jack Koczela Trail Champion AwardEugenia Mercer
(for championing trails, and road safety, in Prince George’s County while employed by M-NCPPC, Department of Parks and Recreation, Prince George’s County, MD.)
WABA Biking for All AwardDiane E Harris
(for championing walking, biking and safe roads on everyone’s behalf, and being an active member of several local bike clubs, including Diva Cycling, Getting It In Cyclists, and Oxon Hill Bicycle and Trail Club)
WABA Heart and SoulDan Langenkamp
(for commitment to advocacy, safety, and laws that create and enforce safe streets nationwide)
WABA Heart and SoulAction Committee for Transit
(for leadership and vision for Vision Zero and safe streets in Montgomery County)
WABA Vision Zero AwardD.C. Council Member Charles Allen
(for dedication to achieving vision zero, expanding our trail and bike network, and making our D.C. more multi-modal)
WABA Vision Zero AwardCongress Member Eleanor Holmes Norton
(for a long and storied career as a champion of biking, walking and public transportation in Washington, D.C.)
WABA Educator of the Year AwardJason Horowitz
(for contributions to bicycle education in our region)
WABA Youth Leadership AwardFriends of Anacostia Park
(for Late Skates and community fishing to weekly clean ups and park residencies led by local residents, and their culturally relevant programming has encouraged many people to spend time in one of DC’s largest green spaces and feel welcomed and supported while doing so)
WABA Business Leader of the Year AwardJay Corbalis
(for dedication to the Capital Trails Coalition, the People Before Cars Coalition in Arlington VA, and long-term support of WABA)